I hurt all over

Woah. So, here’s a reason I shouldn’t exercise: Eep!

After exercise face

I can't decide if it's worse to be fat for the rest of my life, or to look like this every time I exercise in attempts to stop being fat

… and that’s after only 25 minutes of jogging! Which was actually 12 minutes / 3 minutes of walking / 13 minutes of jogging. I am so not cut out for this. The beautiful weather made me want to stay outside, so before going in for a shower, I played with the dogs some, then went out onto the balcony to do some cool down stretches. I think stretching is my favourite part of exercising. Unless it’s the stretching our instructor made us do when I was doing WTF* Taekwon-do in Korea. That was just awful. But otherwise stretching makes me feel like I’m using my muscles without having to put any actual effort in, plus I know it’s good for me and it feels good. Winwinwin! The reason I’m sore today is that I stupidly decided it would be a good idea to do push ups and sit ups as well. Bad idea. I’m terrible at push-ups and struggle to do 4 or 5 proper ones.  And I mean really struggle. And sit-ups? They wouldn’t be so bad… if I hadn’t done 200.

I remember the days when I used to do 200 sit-ups (when I say sit-ups, I mean crunchie type ones) three times a week and thought nothing of it. Yesterday was a real effort to push past 80. I feel old. But I also feel like I’ve achieved something, unlike Sunday, when I went for a run and felt it had been no use.

I’ve been somehow filling my days, but I’m not entirely sure what with. I finished Bill Bryson’s Notes from a Small Island, which was interesting, because I know I’ll be going to Great Britain soon, and Bill Bryson always makes me laugh. I’ve started a book I found in the cupboard called What Should I Do with my Life? by Po Bronson. It’s a collection of true stories about people who have faced that question head on. I’m just beginning it, and it hasn’t gripped me yet, but the title is so intriguing I’m gonna keep going at it. I’ve also been reading a lot of blogs – mostly dream journals cos they’re fascinating (see my blog roll for two of my friends’ dream blogs: Ampiainen and Endorphinland), plus some about attempts to live plastic free, some about travelling, and some about writing. and

I’ve watched season one of Glee up to episode 20, and I am absolutely in LOVE with that show! Singing, dancing, teenage drama, it has EVERYTHING! It’s so cliche it’s good. I also watched the Hannah Montana movie in Spanish. It was awful and I only watched it cos I was too exhausted from my run to move or turn the tv off. On YouTube I watched an excellent show called Me and my Dick. HILARIOUS! It’s a Basement Arts/StarKidPotter production, by the same people as A Very Potter Musical (HIGHLY recommended: I’m off to Pigfarts). The sound quality can be frustrating in the videos, but it’s SO worth it.

I’ve also been on the Outward Bound website a lot, and perusing my Outward Bound Challenge of Words booklet, which is full of inspirational quotes. I won’t post any here, because I know they don’t mean anything unless you’re looking for something in particular, but I’ve been trying to get my motivation up and running. One of my instructors, Chris “Gilby” Gilbertson recently did a 1200km bike race in 7 and a half days. Insane. But the good kind of insane.

It’s stormy and raining again in Granollers today, but that’s quite okay with me. Funniest moment of the day so far: Waking up to a strange computerised voice saying, “I’m stuck, please place me on an even surface,” over and over again, alternating between English, Spanish and what I assumed to be Japanese. I went to investigate and Raquel’s new robot vacuum cleaner had got itself caught up in the stereo wires!  I’m living in the future!

I’ve still not sorted through any of my school notes. I need to decide what to keep and what to chuck (or recycle) – it’s strange not having an exam period after a course of study. The time we’re supposed to spend studying for the exam is always the time I spend arranging my notes. I don’t know what to do now, without that designated note-sorting time.

Yesterday (8th June) was World Ocean Day, hot on the tail of World Environment Day last Saturday. I was made aware of this via Project AWARE, a group of which I am a member through my scuba diving. Their plea this WOD: Give Sharks a Fighting Chance. If you have a moment, please sign the petition. Sharks are a vital part of our planet’s ecosystems, and over fishing and the damaging practice of finning – where the shark’s fins are removed and the shark returned, still alive, to the water, to suffer a slow death – are destroying one of the world’s most remarkable species.

That’s it from me today. I’m going to curl up in bed and re-watch AVPM. I want to be like Malfoy. xEmma

*WTF = World Taekwon-do Federation (formerly KTA/Korean Taekwon-do Association, led by one 최홍희 (Choi Hong Hi)). When Choi went on a goodwill visit to North Korea, the South Koreans basically disowned him and he developed ITF, the International Taekwon-Do Federation. That’s why you find WTF in South Korea and ITF everwhere else that I know of. Although I think the Olympics is WTF.
Categories: Books, Saving the World, Theatre | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “I hurt all over

  1. I can’t get over the fact the the WTF = World Taekwon-do Federation has wtf as there shortened version. I just read what the fuck when you wrote that. Then I couldn’t take it seriously. :)I got my tatting package, go the states for super quick shipping, woot!

    Oh and robot vacuum, I love those but couldn’t see how they would work effectively, do they do a good job? Do you make it stuck so that you can laugh at it?

    • WTF: Why do you think I typed it so many times? 😉 Hehehe.

      Yay for Tatting – although I’m still not entirely sure what it is. Is it like macrame? With needles?

      And re: the robot vacuum, check out the next blog! I didn’t need to make it stuck to laugh!

  2. LOL! i laughed so hard reading this! I can relate to the running, I just got back from a run and I was thinking “this is just not my thing”! Ha ha and I thought WTF was just expressing sentiment for the hard work in class! Pretty cleaver name 🙂 Keep at it girl, I think it gets easier. I’ve been on a lunging craze and I’m finally getting past the sore part and hoping improvements come somewhere down the road! HA!

    • I just heard from a friend who’s planning to do a marathon soon (I blame him for inspiring me to start running in the first place) that you have to get past the half hour point before it feels good. Which I assume means it gets easier at that point.
      Although when I ran my half marathon 2 and a half years ago, I don’t remember any easy parts. I’ve never been so happy to see a bunch of flags with the letters F, I, N, I, S and H on them in my life.
      Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

