Happiness

A series of not really connected thoughts:

  • I cannot begin to explain the pleasure I derive from walking along a sun-bathed street in a foreign country.
  • No matter how many times you say ‘no plastic,’ some shop assistants still think they’re doing you a favour by putting your one item in a bag.
  • If you wait until no-one’s looking, remove your one item and put the bag back, no-one knows the difference. 🙂
  • It’s no surprise the Argentinians won their game today, but I was surprised that all the Koreans in Barcelona still look pretty happy. I wonder if it’s something about Koreans, or something about Barcelona?
  • It’s also no surprise that I’m paying far more attention to the world cup than I usually would… after all, I’m in Barcelona!
  • I finished reading Mister Pip. It was beautiful, and, I feel, quite important, though I can’t explain how. It didn’t speak to me on a personal level, like many other books have, but that just makes it easier for me to say, objectively, that it’s definitely a worthwhile read.
  • Looking at friends’ photos from Korea, I’ve realised I’ve been quite unfair to the country in my telling of it. It’s not a country without beauty. It’s just not the place for me. I didn’t feel at home there. I didn’t let myself see the beauty of it. That’s okay, because if I had, I might not have left, and be where I am now.

I think that is all.

xEmma

Categories: Books, Saving the World, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Happiness

  1. That’s awesome that you were able to sneak the bag back in. Nice work!

  2. I hear you, I figure if I can walk around the store carrying all my items, then why would a need a bag to carry them out? LOL!, I’ve taken stuff out and put the bag back too… but somehow I always get “the look” when I do 🙂 Oh well!

  3. I started reading mister pip a year or so ago but it didn’t grip me so i gave up.

    • It took me a bit to get into it, too. As I said above, I didn’t really connect with it, but I DID like it.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

