What’s important:

Halloween, 31 October:

I’ve never seen a dark Halloween evening before. The streetlamps were orange like the glow from dozens of jack-o-lanterns in windows, on fence posts, garden paths and leading up the stairs to front doors. In windows hung silhouettes of skeletons, Death, wolves and ghouls. Children in costumes trailing adults in winter jackets laughed and pointed out Halloween-friendly houses to each other.

It was the jack-o-lanterns that drew me in. I have never seen such intricately and imaginatively carved vegetables before – and the light from within them: it seemed like a warm night despite the cold.

I carved a pumpkin that night with Maribeth:

Jack-o-lantern by MB and me

Prague, 8-9 November:

Praha, capital city of the Czech Republic, is a picturesque city. It was a joy to see Zuzana and spend time with her, Maribeth, Morgan, Paige and Jeremy. Probably the second best weekend of my life.

I didn’t take many photos as I knew everyone else was taking a lot, and somewhere back home I have a CD of photos labelled “Tallin to Paris, 2006″ with a bunch of pictures from last time I was there. This time was definitely more enjoyable though and my mood was the best it’s been in months.

Prague

Praha


Today…

…everything fell apart. I’m considering a trip home.

I think, in order to survive, I need a goal. Something to work towards. And I need help. I’ve always been very independent and asking for help is not something I’m used to. I don’t know what to do any more. This winter, I think, will be too hard for me. I don’t feel like I’m capable of doing any good any more. People are helping me and I have to suck it up. Life is hard, get over it.

xEmma

Categories: Introversion, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “What’s important:

  1. Hey man, it would be great to have you back in the country but remember that you need something that you need to do. eg I thought about moving back to Dunedin too but eventually I was convinced that there was no point unless I had something there to motivate myself. So if there was a job or activity around I reckon awesum but make sure you are finding something for you not just to be close to family cos that might not be enough. So yeah you do need a goal.
    I’ve been pretty lost since uni my goals are not attainable enough. the time frames are difficult to work towards and I get down a lot.
    take care and remember to visit me if you come through winter is hard in any country except maybe australia where winter is like autumn, haha.

    • I fully agree. I haven’t decided on a goal yet, but I’ve managed to distract myself from the fact that I don’t have one for a while.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

