Haruki Murakami’s Norwegian Wood

Norwegian WoodNorwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’ve been struggling to read anything new for a while now, trying a bunch of different books. This is the first one that I picked up and couldn’t put back down again.

It’s a simple yet complex tale of a young man and his experiences of falling in love with two unusual women, while at the same time dealing with the suicides and mental illnesses of those close to him. The Beatles’ Norwegian Wood is the perfect soundtrack for the reading of it, along with any of the other songs mentioned in the text.

I’ve heard that it’s quite different from Murakami’s other books, which makes me not sure if I really want to read his others. I love his writing in this one, and although I enjoy many styles of writing, I think I’ll put off reading anything else by him for a couple of years, just so I can savour Norwegian Wood for a while.

View all my reviews

Categories: Books | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Haruki Murakami’s Norwegian Wood

  1. I would suggest NOT putting off reading anything else by him. I certainly enjoyed Norwegian Wood, but his other titles are grand too. I especially like The Wind Up Bird Chronicle, and Hard Boiled Wonderland at The End of the World. So good.

    • I do intend to read others, but just not yet. 🙂 Thanks for the recommendation.
      And public congratulations on the engagement! Hope I get to meet Shinako one day.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

